

COLUMBIA COLLEGE FACULTY UNION

IFT Local 6602 | IFT-AFT/AFL-CIO 600 S. Michigan Ave. | Ste. 1309B Chicago, IL 60605 312.369.7485

November 16th, 2023

Dear Dr. Kim,

I am writing to express my unwavering support for the Columbia Faculty Union (CFAC) and their pursuit of a just contract. Recent communications have brought to my attention Columbia College Chicago's proposed actions, including course reductions, larger class sizes, and the potential dismissal of numerous CFAC members. These proposed changes neglect the primary focus of our educational institutions: the students. Such alterations undermine the educational quality promised to students who have entrusted their futures to Columbia College.

Columbia College stands as a vital establishment for higher education within our state. Despite its private status, it significantly benefits from state support. As per the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, last year alone, Columbia College students were awarded 2,060 MAP grants amounting to \$9,669,364. The current situation places these students at risk of losing credits for the ongoing semester, significantly hindering their progress. However, this dire scenario can be averted through a fair and equitable resolution with CFAC.

I strongly urge the Columbia College administration to come back to the table and bargain with workers so that everyone can get back to the most important people in all of this—the students.

Warm regards,



Alderperson Daniel LaSpata, 1st Ward

Alderperson Desmon Yancy, 5th Ward

Alderperson Will Hall, 6th Ward

Alderperson Julia Ramirez, 12th Ward

Alderperson Stephanie Coleman, 16th Ward

Alderperson Jeanette Taylor, 20th Ward

Alderperson Mike Rodriguez, 22nd Ward

Alderperson Silvana Tabares, 23rd Ward

Alderperson Byron Sigcho Lopez, 25th Ward

Alderperson Jessie Fuentes, 26th Ward

Alderperson Ruth Cruz, 30th Ward

Alderperson Rossana Rodriguez-Sanchez, 33rd Ward

Alderperson Carlos Rosa, 35th Ward

Alderperson Andre Vasquez, 40th Ward

Alderperson Matt Martin, 47th Ward

Alderperson Maria Hadden, 49th Ward



ILLINOIS STATE SENATE

State Senator Lakesia Collins, 5th District

State Senator Robert Martwick, 10th District

State Senator Mike Porfirio, 11th District

State Senator Celina Villanueva, 12th District

State Senator Robert Peters, 13th District

State Senator Napoleon Harris, 15th District

State Senator Willie Preston, 16th District

State Senator Bill Cunningham, 18th District



ILLINOIS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

State Representative Aaron Ortiz, 1st District State Representative Lilian Jimenez, 4th District State Representative Kim Du buclet, 5th District State Representative Sonya Harper, 6th District State Representative Hoan Huynh, 13th District State Representative Kelly Cassidy, 14th District
State Representative Lindsey LaPointe, 19th District
State Representative Theresa Mah, 24th District
State Representative Kam Buckner, 26th District
State Representative Marcus Evans, 33rd District
State Representative Mary Gill, 35th District
State Representative Will Guzzardi, 39th District